Why Should We Re-engineer Teaching?

There are many reasons we should rethink how we teach. Click on the link below to view a Prezi that highlights just a few of these reasons. When you are ready for the conversation, please stop by the IDC for resources to assist you! (You don’t have to re-create the wheel when you re-engineer it!) (If WordPress is giving a hassle viewing the embedded Prezi, you can click http://prezi.com/frrf7vnfb_sj/why-we-should-re-engineer-teaching/?utm_campaign=share&utm_medium=copy# to view it.)

About Heather Henson

Heather has a background in education. She has developed online, hybrid, and traditional trainings, workshops, and lessons for K-12, higher education, and industry. She enjoys blending learning theory research, instructional design, and content to develop lesson formats that are meaningful to students!

Posted on September 6, 2013, in Instructional Design, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I really enjoy your site. When you write your post, switch to text view instead of visual. Grab the embed code from Prezi and paste it into the post. This will make your Prezi viewable in your site verses have a link to your Prezi. I am a fan.

  2. I found that Prezi works well with various WordPress themes. I had a problem with Prezi on a theme I was using. I switched themes and now it works seamlessly.

    I am a ID student an wrote about your blog for an assignment I had last week. This week I wrote about your blog post “Why Should We Re-Engineer Teaching”. I am going to paste the post into a comment. Here it the link to the post in case it does not paste into a comment box properly.

    http://instructionaltechnologyanddesign.com/to-flip-or-not-flip/

  3. I am an Instructional Technology and Design student at Walden University. Last week I was assigned to find several Instructional Design blogs and write reviews about each one. I wrote a review about the
    Ivy Tech Southwest Instructional Design Center’s blog site. I was very impressed with their blog site and their content. You can read my review on my blog site.

    This week I am to contribute an original post to a ID blog site. I can’t post an original entry on a blog unless I am a contributing author. I plan to post my entry as a comment and hope the blog administrator will post my entry to their blog site. I don’t know if the Prezi I embed into my post and the video I embedded will display in a comment. As a backup, I will post my original entry on my blog site and provide Tony Toon a link to my blog. The following  is my original entry that I am submitting to IDCResources.Wordpress.com

    To Flip or Not to Flip

    I recently read the blog post entitle ” Why Should We Re-Engineer Teaching” written by Heather Henson. The post featured the following Prezi presentation:

    The Prezi presentation has a very compelling video embed into it. I have seen this video in the past and was very excited to have come across it again. It is a profound video. I was very moved by it and agree with its message wholeheartedly. What I gathered from the Prezi is that the Ivy Tech Southwest Instructional Design Center is having a workshop this semester. I read through the list of workshops and found several that will be very beneficial.

    During the Prezi there is a reference to the Flipped Classroom model. The author of the Prezi said, ” We can help guide the students to the content outside of class and then engage them in the class”.  I consider myself an innovative teacher. I teach Language Arts in a Middle School. I dove in 100% last year and attempted to flip my classroom. Filming teachers and flipped lessons was never a problem. We made several formats of flipped lessons. Some were videos of teachers presenting the instruction live and in person. Other formats were podcasts, and voice narrated Power Point presentations.

    Again, I agree with Heather Henson about the fact that we need to re-engineer teaching. Students have evolved and our pedagogy should evolve to meet the needs of our modern students. I would caution teachers who plan to change the format of their class by flipping their classroom.

    My attempt to flip my class failed because of the demographics of the students I teach. My students are between the ages of 11-13. Over 54% of my students are considered social economically challenge. Many of my students do not have internet access and/or a computer. I also have many students that have internet access, computers, and even tablets. Among this group of students are many that do not see the value in homework and refused to watch the flipped classroom videos. There were only a small handful of students that took advantage of the flipped classroom model.

    There are many versions of the flipped classroom model.John Bergman and Aaron Sams are the founders of the flipped classroom model. This flow chart illustrates the original model.

    I am currently re-engineering how I teach. My model adheres to the goals of the original flipped classroom model. The one major difference is that I have removed the element of students having to view videos and other media outside of school. An instructional designer uses learning theories to design curriculum. The flipped classroom is not a learning theory; it is a teaching model. “Some teaching models are situation-specific” (Ormrod 2008). As I stated before, the demographics of my students prevents me from requiring my students to receive their instruction at home the day before class. Therefore, I have had to alter the original model to conform to my specific situation.

    I will still use videos, podcasts, and narrated Power Points. I will still make them available to my students outside of school. The purpose of these mediums will be different. They will be intended to be used to reiterate my lessons, remediate students that need further instruction, and they will be beneficial to students that were absent.

    The Prezi Heather made listed many other workshops that caught my eye. I think the workshop about iPad Apps would be extremely helpful to someone that is re-engeneering their teaching. I am a huge fan of tablet technology. The re-design of my instruction utilizes the use of tablets. The number one challenge I face daily with my students is their lack of attention. Some students have legitimate attention disorders and many others are unmotivated. Sometime I feel as though I have very few students that genuinely desire to learn. I think tablets will help me promote student attention (Ormrod 2008).

    At the current time, my school does not have any tablets. I have about five students that bring their personal tablets to school. In order for  the instruction I have designed to be effective, every one of my students will need to have access to a tablet on a consistent basis. I want to convert my students into e-leaners. The following video outlines the top ten ways I will use tablets with my students in order to engage them. I made this video for a grant I recently wrote.

    I concur with Heather about the fact we need to re-engineer teaching. There are many tools and models that teachers implement into their instructional design. The most powerful aspect of Heather’s Prezi presentation was the survey results of the students. Sometimes it seems that students opinions and view points are left out of the equation when designing instruction.

    Reference

    Ormrod, Schunk, & Gredler. (2009). Learning theories and instruction (Laureate custom edition). New York: Pearson.

    • Chris,

      Thank you for reviewing our blog and posting your review on our site. This is an exciting time to be an instructional designer! Please keep in touch as you continue with learning theory and design topics in your coursework! ~Heather

Leave a Reply

